This week I did comping.

Screen Shot 2016-11-12 at 16.19.21.png
Screenshot of Logic Pro X project showing the take folders of Kick in, Kick out and Snare T

Although I have had a lot of experience with take folders and comping before (I find it a very efficient way of recording), I never really used it to it’s full potential. Last week, I grouped my tracks and enabled Phased-Locked Audio which meant that when I comp-ed one track, it would do exactly the same to the other tracks in the group, minimising the possibility of phasing issues. I started with my drum group.

screen-shot-2016-11-12-at-16-36-21
Screenshot showing the take folder of Kick in. Various bits from the three takes have been selected to form the final track for Kick in.

Once I was happy with all of the comps for the drums, I bounced them in place, muted and hid the original (I prefer hiding tracks that I am no longer using because it declutters my project without getting rid of them), and added the bounce to a new track.

Screen Shot 2016-11-12 at 16.41.46.png
Screenshot showing the settings of the bounce in place for the Kick in track.
screen-shot-2016-11-12-at-17-02-21
Screenshot showing the completed comp tracks for the Drums track stack.

I repeated this for all of the instruments.

Screen Shot 2016-11-13 at 10.06.59.png
Screenshot showing the contents of the take folders for the bass.

I was the bassist for the project. As I was comping the bass, I realised that none of the takes were good. However, I took the best bits and made the best possible comp I could with the material at hand. This is why it looks very choppy. I’m hoping that, with some processing and flex, I can make the bass part sound more together and consistent.

Leave a Reply

